Welcome to the Nebraska Recreation
and Park Association!

NeRPA Logo
Professionals and Citizens dedicated to the future of
Parks and Recreation in Nebraska. 
Find us on Facebook!

Home Board/Committees
Executive Board & Officers

2014-15 Executive Board & Officers voted in on September 21st, 2014

President Elect - Jeff Hassenstab, City of Hastings

Past President - Levin Collins, City of Omaha

Vice President - Perry Mader, City of Scottsbluff

Treasurer - Mark Caughey, City of Omaha

Secretary - Cheree Turner, City of York

Midwest Council - Bob Barr, City of North Platte

At Large - Tami Phillips, City of Papillion

At Large - Amanda English, City of Omaha

At Large - Les Giddens, Cunningham Recreation

At Large - Jade Meads, City of Kearney

Therapeutic President - Nicole Zimmerman, Center Pointe

Park Resources President - Mike Francis, City of Bellevue

Student Representative - Marta Moorman, UNK

Current NeRPA Constitution, By-Laws and Manual.


Standing Committees

Organize educational opportunities specific to aquatic personnel and develop a network for sharing information.

Athletics & Sports

The Athletic and Sports Committee shall promote recreation by means of education clinics, workshops and special events pertaining the athletics.


A. According to the “Code of Awards”, review nominations submitted by Nebraska Recreation and Parks Association members.

B. According to the “Code of Awards”, review and recommend to the President for approval, members of the Association who have made outstanding contributions to the recreation, park and leisure services field.


Budget & Auditing

The Budget and Auditing Committee shall be responsible for the annual budget and other financial matters of all the committees and for the annual audit of the Nebraska Recreation and Parks Associations financial records.



The purpose of this committee is to establish national standards for certification in the recreation, park resources, and leisure service profession; to provide recognition of individuals who have qualified; and to afford a guarantee to employers that certified personnel have attained stated education and experience qualifications.

Constitution, By-Laws, Manual of Procedures

The Constitution, By Laws, Manual of Procedures Committee shall insure that the Constitution, the By-Laws and the Manual of Procedures are kept consistent and reflect current policy and procedures of the Nebraska Recreation and Park Association, Inc.

Continuing Education

The Continuing Education Committee shall coordinate training sessions for leisure service personnel in the State of Nebraska as a function of the Nebraska Recreation and Park Association, Inc. This goal will be accomplished through cooperative efforts with universities, communities, state organizations and agencies involved in leisure services.

Continuing Education Institute Program

The Continuing Education Institute Program Committee shall execute and organize all activities and arrangements for the Association’s Annual Continuing Education Institute.

Development Grant Program

Administer the Development Program per guidelines.

Great Park Pursuit

Coordinate the Great Park Pursuit Program throughout the state

History & Necrology

The committee shall maintain a history of the association and prepare memoirs of deceased members.


This committee will work with a financial consultant (approved by the Executive Board) to develop investment strategies for the Associations Scholarship/Endowment Fund, Development Program Fund and Association Management Fund.


The Legislative Committee shall keep the Nebraska Recreation and Park Association informed about current and pending national, state and local legislation as it affects the Association, and shall be responsible for organizing communications about critical issues.

Membership & Directory

The Membership Committee shall encourage eligible persons in the recreation and/or park field to apply for membership in the Nebraska Recreation and Park Association, Inc. and in the National Recreation and Park Association, and shall determine proper membership classification for all candidates for membership. The Membership/Directory Committee shall keep a listing of contact information including but not limited to addresses, email, phone, and fax.


The Nominations Committee shall prepare a candidate slate for the Nebraska Recreation and Park Association, Inc.

President's Round Table

Act in an advisory capacity to the Executive Board.

Scholarship & Endowment

The Scholarship Committee shall support the educational efforts of college students desiring and pursuing a career in recreation, park, horticulture, conservation, and leisure services fields.

Site Selection

The Site Selection Committee shall recommend sites for the Annual Continuing Education Institute.


The Technology Committee shall coordinate and disseminate information pertinent to Nebraska Recreation and Park Association and NRPA through all technological means.

Hershey Track and Field Program
National Alliance of Youth Sports




feed-image Feed Entries

Powered by Joomla!. Designed by: joomla templates VPS hosting plans Valid XHTML and CSS.